I have been a good consumer. Two spots and a PLB. Leather Lungs is correct, my silver SPOT is now my primary, orange the backup. They will not use a SPOT under recall.
Collectively WaterTribe has single handedly rescued the marine electronics industry. I had to buy a new PFD so I can sport all these doodads on my person.
As Jolly Roger points out SPOT is a M-F operation. If my primary SPOT craps out before CP1in the EC I will not be sitting there until Monday morning waiting for a clerk to take my support call to substitute. I will be somewhere shy of CP2 when my secondary comes on. Does this disqualify me?
This is the worst case scenario for SPOT failure in terms of potential impact to a participant. I read the rules and warnings just now and this is not specified. I have understood (from skippers briefings I assume) that if you arrive at a CP with an inop SPOT you cannot procede. That was prior to the PLB requirement.
Macatawa shared this post http://watertribe.org/forums/topic/spot-emergency-response#post-5348 which shows just how useless a SPOT may be in a disaster.
I don't know what the point of a SPOT is anymore except for the amusement of spectators. If CP logbooks are outlawed then we are TOTALLY dependent on crap technology to participate. Do we really need to have 2 full SPOT subscriptions?
I would like a chief ruling on this.